© gript

ON THIS DAY: 23 DECEMBER 1920: The Government of Ireland Act enforces the secession of the six Northern Irish counties from the rest of Ireland

101 years ago the Government of Ireland Act passed through both houses of parliament in London.

The Act divided Ireland into two territories, “Southern Ireland” and “Northern Ireland”, each intended to be self-governing. “Northern Ireland” as defined by the Act, amounting to six of the nine counties of Ulster, Down, Derry, Armagh, Antrim, Fermanagh and Tyrone.

This lead to the partition of Ireland the following May, the consequences which we still feel to this day, particularly with regard to Brexit. Partition came about fundamentally from the extensive and forced plantation of Ulster in the 17th century. Decisions have long term consequences.


Share mdi-share-variant mdi-twitter mdi-facebook mdi-whatsapp mdi-telegram mdi-linkedin mdi-email mdi-printer mdi-chevron-left Prev Next mdi-chevron-right Related
Comments are closed

Do you favour HAVING a referendum to insert a right to housing into the constitution?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...