99 years ago the Government of Ireland Act passed through both houses of parliament in London.

The Act divided Ireland into two territories, “Southern Ireland” and “Northern Ireland”, each intended to be self-governing. “Northern Ireland” as defined by the Act, amounting to six of the nine counties of Ulster, Down, Derry, Armagh, Antrim, Fermanagh and Tyrone.

This lead to the partition of Ireland the following May, the consequences which we still feel to this day, particularly with regard to Brexit. Partition came about fundamentally from the extensive and forced plantation of Ulster in the 17th century. Decisions have long term consequences.